Maple Apple Caramel Syrup

DSCF4230

Many who know me well like to poke fun at me for how much time I spend thinking about food – it’s pretty constant.

I love it because it gives me an opportunity to experiment with food outside of the kitchen and in my head where, believe it or not, many trial recipes are altered a few times before even beginning to cook and perfect the final recipe.

This recipe is one that I spent a good hour or so thinking about while unable to sleep in the early hours of the morning last Saturday before a brunch I was hosting for several friends.

I used this syrup over miniature versions of my buckwheat pancake recipe and we were all incredibly happy with the results – a smooth, caramel-flavoured syrup!

This syrup would also work well with crepes, vegan ice cream (recipes to come this spring/summer!), waffles, fried mochi, or any other cake or dessert.

– – – – –

Makes about 1 ½ cups of syrup

Ingredients:
–          1 large apple (sweet, such as Gala or Ambrosia), peeled and cored
–          1 cup maple syrup
–          1-4 tbsp water, as needed

Using a food processor or manual method, mash the apple into a smooth sauce.

In a small stainless steel saucepan, whisk together the apple sauce and maple syrup. Judging by the consistency, add a few tablespoons of filtered water, as needed, whisking as it comes to a full boil.

Reduce the heat to medium and let the mixture bubble gently and condense its flavours for a while – about 15 minutes or so. (If any of you have ever made caramel at home from butter and sugar, you’re looking for the same type of bubble and cooking method.) Whisk the mixture often to keep it from separating and also to check the consistency.

Closer to the 15 minute mark, you will notice that the syrup has darkened in colour and taken on a thicker consistency. If the flavour is right, turn the heat off and let the syrup sit and cool, whisking from time to time. Keep an eye on the syrup while it cooks – if it gets too dark the flavour may be bitter.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Maple Apple Caramel Syrup

  1. This is an incredible recipe for a syrup that goes well with pancakes and possibly toast. I had the honor of having it with crispy pancakes and I gotta say, after years of smothering liquidy syrup over my pancakes, and only having this once, I would prefer this maple apple caramel syrup over store bought syrup any day.

    It was a little bit tart and sour for a first taste. I really did enjoy that its thick texture did not sog up my pancakes and otherwise made them even more enjoyable because of how well the syrup’s overall flavour gave a nice kick to the pancakes.

    Like

Leave a comment