The Liebster Award

liebster2I am extremely honoured to accept the Liebster Award, graciously awarded to me and Canadian Macrobiotics by the wonderful Mladen and Milica of Delicious Peace of Mind. I hope you can excuse my delay in posting about it and nominating other amazing bloggers: its been such a hectic week with my day job, I am seriously looking forward to enjoying this long weekend off!

The Liebster Award celebrates and recognizes newer blogs with less than 1000 followers and I’m very excited to share this award with some fabulous bloggers I’ve come to get to know through my work with this site.


I’d like to start with answering Mladen and Milica’s questions:

1. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
My dream has always been to live on a beach, somewhere nice and warm, where I can wake up to the sounds of the waves hitting the land and the calls of the birds. My mom once took my brother and I to a cottage right on Sauble Beach for a week and it was one of the most enjoyable and peaceful experiences of my life. Waking up to do yoga by the water each morning, enjoying that slow ‘island-time’ schedule. Part of that dream now includes to have a Canadian Macrobiotics centre somewhere on a beachfront property – with a greenhouse for year-round organic gardening, of course. I think I need to explore areas first-hand before I decide where specifically.

2. Are you a cat person or a dog person, and do you have any furry (or not so furry) friends?
I love all animals! That said, I’m more of a dog person. Cat’s creep me out a bit from an ownership perspective because of the claws, the fur everywhere, and the litter box situation. Dogs are more interactive, more dependent, and more social, in my opinion. My dog, Powder, a 9-year old Lhasa Apso, is my best friend and closest companion.

3. If you could live in any era, when would you live?
I often find myself yearning to live in our world at a time before our lands and waters were polluted with the industrial civilization’s waste. Sitting on the lake, enjoying the water, but you can’t go in, let alone drink it. I’d love to live in an era where I can safely eat wild plants and drink from clear, clean streams and brooks. These days, you’re born into the industrialized, ‘civilized’ society and you have to work so hard to find a way out to natural, holistic freedom.

4. Do you prefer more adventure or leisure type of vacation?
I couldn’t possibly choose – both are great depending on where your life is at the time. Maybe a vacation with a mix of both?

5. Do you believe in faith and destiny?
I’d say a flat out ‘yes’ but know that most people attach different concepts to those words than I do. So, in my own words, I have a deep faith in the Ultimate Reality and Ultimate Truth, and that the journey to finding that Truth is each of our destinies, in our own way.

6. What is your greatest motivation to keep going?
Life itself. I’ve never been one to lack for motivation – if anything, I need to remind myself to slow down and enjoy what I have accomplished or arrived at.

7. How do you deal with your fears?
While we all deal with fears, I’ve also never been one to be hampered by them. I’ve always believed in my own ability to overcome challenges and attain the goals I set. When I do encounter fear, I share my feelings with a trusted friend or family member to help relieve the burden of those emotions and then work to find a solution to move forward with in a way that helps me feel confident, thus taking away any fear.

8. What is your favourite movie?
This is a three-way tie.  FernGully (1992) was an animated movie that was one of my favourites growing up. I watched it again as an adult and was blown away at the strong message it conveys about loving, respecting, and protecting nature; I think that’s partly where the deep roots of my love of nature first began. The Secret Garden (1993) enchanted my child and adult mind with its secret passageways and celebration of nature coming alive. The scenes shot in the gardens when spring finally blooms creates a pleasant energy in me that never seems to fade in intensity. And, finally, Pride and Prejudice (2005) as it is one of the most stunning film adaptations of one of my favourite pieces of literature. I read the book at least a dozen times before ever seeing the movie. The 2005 film version had its classical music specially composed just for the film! The music was so lovely and enchanting, I purchased the soundtrack to enjoy as well.

9. Favourite season of the year?
Summer for its intense heat! But I love each of the seasons for their own merits. Spring for its fresh scent and heavy rains. Autumn for its changing colours and cool breeze. And even winter, for its magical snowfalls and the cold that kills but allows for rebirth!

10. What makes you laugh?
Life makes me laugh! But especially my dog.

11. What do you prefer: living in a city or in the countryside?
As much as I love the bustle and energy of the city, my spirit and being always long to be as close to nature as I can get.


Now, for 11 random facts about myself:

1. I’ve been the same height since I was 10 or 11 years old – that’s 5’10!

2. I’ve attended more schools than I can count on my two hands.

3. I began my first business endeavor at 16. My goodness, has there been much to learn since then. And there still is!

4. I love art, music, dance, and all things expressive – I’m no master of any instrument but am a decent musician with several of them, including the piano, the bass, the drums, and my voice.

5. I moved out at 18 and have never paid for cable or any type of television service, though that makes most people balk at me in disbelief. I’ve always preferred living life and doing things to watching others live life or do things via the box in my living room or bedroom.

6. I have three tattoos right now: two mirror-image self-designed Celtic crescent moons on my shoulders, and a lotus flower with the latin text ‘veritas vos liberabit’ (the truth will set you free) on my inner left bicep. More to come? Perhaps – if I’m inspired to add to the artwork!

7. I’ll be turning 25 this summer and still don’t have my full license (to drive a motor vehicle); that said, I’m planning to change that this summer!

8. Many people know me for my love of yoga, qigong, and holistic and macrobiotic cooking and lifestyle and think it is all do professionally. While living my holistic lifestyle all day, every day, and relying on it as my main source of income one day is certainly the long-term goal, I’ve also worked as a coordinator and counselor for a Trustee for 6 years now (and counting), which has given me the opportunity to work in finance and family, criminal, tax, and business law like I always desired to experience growing up, without committing to being a lawyer, Trustee, or accountant!

9. Many people ask me about my heritage and comment that I have a unique look to me. I’m the proud daughter of a loving Austrian mother and a strong Croatian father, who each have their own interesting stories to tell.

10. I love languages – modern, ancient, and undeciphered! I am fairly fluent in French, but only understand bits and pieces of my family German and Croatian tongues, and some Spanish. Right now I’m enjoying my growing comprehension of the Sanskrit language as I continue to deepen my yogic and spiritual studies.

11. The number eleven is my very favourite, most influential number, so I’m pretty excited that all these lists have included eleven items.


Now, for the nominees:

1. Celia Hales’ Miracles Each Day – for the wonderful sentiments of acceptance, love, and miracles she shares.

2. Fading Landmarks – for their love of nature, culture, and sharing that with the world.

3. Rachel’s R.P. Apothecary – for her love of nature and natural health and beauty, and for sharing her passion and skills at making natural cosmetics with others.

4. Shaku Selvakumar’s Change Happens – for her vibrant and dynamic spirit, her gift with words, and her passion for sharing it all.

5. Lisa’s The Vegan Mom – for giving a great perspective on veganism in the modern family, her work with animal rights, her informative articles, and her mouth-watering recipes.

There were many more that I would have loved to nominate, however many blogs I follow have many more than 1000 followers or have already received the award and I tried to avoid duplicating. I hope the nominations brighten each of their days the same way receiving the award brightened mine!


And for the 11 questions for my nominates:

1. Have you done much travelling? If so, where?

2. What is your favourite thing to do on a day off, or a day just to yourself?

3. What compels you to share what you do with others?

4. Who are some of your biggest influences in life?

5. How many languages do you speak?

6. What is a very memorable experience you have that has influenced you or your direction in life?

7. What is an important goal of yours?

8. What is your best tool for dealing with opposition in life?

9. What is the one thing you think people need to embrace to enrich their lives and the lives of others?

10. Where is one of your favourite places to go and enjoy or visit?

11. What are 3-5 words that best describe you?


Finally, last but not the least – The Official Rules of The Liebster Award:

liebster2

If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:

– Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)

– Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

– Provide 11 random facts about yourself.

– Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)

– Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

– List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

– Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)


This has been a lot of work, but a lot of fun! Thanks again to Delicious Peace of Mind for sharing this experience with me!

7 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

    • Oh it was so nice to read through your post and answers and get to know more about you, too!

      I welcomed the opportunity to sit down and really look through some of the blogs I follow to figure out 1) which ones I’d want to nominate and, 2) how many followers each had. I’d been wanting to go through a lot of the sites more thoroughly but never seemed to find the extra time – this pushed me to make the time!

      Thank you, congrats to you as well! What a pleasant surprise it was for me this week 🙂

      Like

  1. Thank you for accepting the award! 🙂 These awards are a great way to discover and spread word of awesome blogs and also, to learn more about our fellow bloggers. Most of all, we found interesting that you have Croatian heritage and that we could probably, in we ever met, try to communicate in more than just English 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: “Spreading blog love” – the Liebster Award | fading landmarks

Leave a Reply

