Quote of the Day: Dalai Lama

Burlington's Lakeshore

Burlington’s Lakeshore

“Happiness is not something ready made.
It comes from your own actions.”
~ Dalai Lama


Most people have been raised to believe that the pursuit of happiness lays around us in the external world – in possessions, status, wealth, lifestyle, etc. – and spend their entire lives chasing things that never truly fill that void. Happiness is not something that we stumble upon in a search for it; rather, it is something we create every day in each choice we make.

I haven’t been updating Canadian Macrobiotics like I usually do lately, a large part of that attributed to the fact that my laptop very randomly stopped working last week and I had many engagements planned that had me on the road and commuting a lot each day. It was hectic, and encountering that situation a few years ago would likely have been enough to push me over the edge emotionally, mentally, or maybe a bit of both.

Thanks to years of spiritual cultivation, I was genuinely shocked at how peaceful and content I stayed throughout the whole situation. A younger Briana would have victimized herself to the stress and misfortune of the situation; these days, I choose to embrace situations as best I canΒ while keeping an attitude of both humour and gratefulness for all the good I have within my heart!

The circumstances sure don’t change, but my experience of them does based on my choices, my thoughts, my actions, and my reactions.

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend, and a beautiful start to the week! xo

Burlington's Lakeshore

Burlington’s Lakeshore

Leave a Reply

