Quote of the Day: Thich Nhat Hanh & Tribute for a Beloved Teacher

“This body is not me.
I am not limited by this body.
I am life without boundaries. I have never been born,
and I have never died. Look at the ocean and the sky filled with stars,
manifestations from my wondrous true mind.

Since before time, I have been free.

Birth and death are only doors through which we pass,
sacred thresholds on our journey.

Birth and death are a game of hide- and seek.

So laugh with me,
hold my hand,
let us say good-bye,
say good-bye, to meet again soon.

We meet today.
We will meet again tomorrow.
We will meet at the source every moment.
We meet each other in all forms of life.”

~ Thich Nhat Hanh


The above poem was shared on Zen Flash shortly after the news that Thay’s time in this particular physical manifestation may be coming to a close.

However, official reports from Plum Village are hopeful of a full recovery.

I have never gotten the opportunity to meet Thich Nhat Hanh in person, but feel a strangely deep sense of familiarity with him after years of studying his teachings and his work.

I don’t typically get overly emotional at the prospect of a passing, even with someone close – not that it is easy to go through, but the peace of accepting and appreciating what was while not tormenting self with holding on to what is passing has always seemed the right thing to do.

In this case, the news of Thay’s brain hemorrhage and current condition was shocking and sad, but I found that reading his poem elicited a strong emotional reaction within me. I feel it is very bittersweet: such wisdom, such clarity, such poetry coming from a man so wise and beloved by so many, who unfortunately will one day leave us behind and will not share any new wisdom or new teachings, but instead will be remembered by the wonderful impact he made with his life.

I have shared Thay’s work twice in my time doing the QOTD project on Canadian Macrobiotics: in December 2013 and in March 2014. His loving wisdom has always been profoundly inspirational and enlightening for me, and I am eternally grateful for having the opportunity to experience his work.

May we all find some time to bow our heads in silence for a moment today, and remember and appreciate who Thich Nhat Hanh was and the wonderful impact his work had on our world, while sending loving and healing energies his way.

With love and light, xo

3 thoughts on “Quote of the Day: Thich Nhat Hanh & Tribute for a Beloved Teacher

  1. We have brought out “Each Breath, a smile” and “A pebble for your pocket” to read with our little ones over the next few days. When I explained to my daughter and showed her a picture of the man who wrote 2 of her favorite books, she smiled and said : He looks like a happy little boy… we had to laugh. I told her that is what happens when you live a true life of compassion and love. You never grow truly old, just wiser and full of life. The spirit never grows old, only the vessel expires. We are more than our shells. We are what lives on. I’m happy to say I’m raising children that are unafraid of death.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Quote of the Day: Thich Nhat Hanh & Update from Plum Village | Canadian Macrobiotics

Leave a Reply

