Peach Pie

wpid-wp-1408586389976.jpeg

It’s late summer and peach season is upon us!

I love our local Ontario harvests. We are truly blessed with the variety of amazing produce we can grow here, even year-round indoors or in greenhouses!

[For lessons on how to grow a variety of produce indoors, see my Sustainable Organic Gardening page here.]

Every year I anticipate the late summer peach harvests. They are just divine!

I love doing peach crumbles/cobblers because they’re so easy and tasty, but wanted to do an actual peach pie this year. I had intended to experiment again with making a macrobiotic, flaky pie crust, but ran out of flours to use and didn’t want to wait any longer to use up my peaches. So, I decided to mimick the crust I use for my pumpkin pie and lemon pie recipes because not only is it delicious, it is also simple to make and a completely gluten-free option.

The resulting flavour was incredibly indulgent!

I used very little sweetener at all in the pie – I wanted those delicious peaches to speak for themselves.

I received rave reviews all around from those who helped me polish off this pie plate.

Try it for yourself and let me know what you think!


Serves 8-12

Ingredients:

Crust:
– 2 cups almonds
– 2 cups oats
– ¼ cup coconut oil
– ¼ tsp. sea salt

Filling:
– about 6 cups peaches, sliced*
– 2 tbsp. arrowroot starch
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– ½ cup maple syrup

Preheat the oven to 400F degrees. Prepare a pie plate about 9″ in diameter – you can grease it with coconut oil but I left my glass pie plate without it because I know that with glass, when the pie is cool, it comes out no problem.

In a food processor, pulse almonds and oats until broken up and beginning to break down into a meal. Add coconut oil and salt and continue processing, scraping down the sides as needed, until a coarse meal forms that sticks together slightly.

Take half of the crust mixture and distribute it evenly around your pie plate. Reserve the other half for the topping.

With damp hands, press out the crust mixture so that you have a solid, even crust all around the bottom and right up the sides to the top of the pie plate. You can use a fork or other utensil to poke tiny holes throughout the bottom of the crust for more even baking.

In a large bowl, combine sliced peaches, arrowroot starch, and cinnamon. Mix around to coat all fruit evenly with dry ingredients. Then add the maple syrup and toss until everything is evenly coated. Pour the peaches into the pie crust.

Using the rest of the crust mixture, distribute it evenly across the top of the pie and press it down to form a solid top crust, making sure the crust gets right out to the edges of the pie plate to connect with the pie crust below.

Bake at 400F for 10 minutes, then decrease heat to 325F – 350F and bake for 40-45 minutes. Let cool.

wpid-wp-1408586386296.jpeg

Serve the pie warm or cold. If you serve it warm, the pie crust will not hold together and it will be what I affectionately term a peach crumble pie.

However, served cold the pie retains its shape perfectly (see photo below)!

wpid-wp-1408586378860.jpeg

Enjoy!


Notes:

* I keep the skins on my peaches, not just to keep all those vitamins and fibre but also because I prefer the texture they add! The red parts in the pie are from those gorgeous skins. *

 

2 thoughts on “Peach Pie

Leave a Reply

