Curried Broccoli Fried Rice

wpid-wp-1406641431958.jpeg

I made a big pot of delicious basmati rice on the weekend and had quite a bit left over that needed to be used up.

It’s been a bit cool and rainy the past few days so I was craving something warming, energizing, and satisfying, and after a long day of work followed by an intense yoga session, I wanted something fast!

You can fry up rice with just about any vegetable and flavour combination; I wanted to keep things tasty but super simple.

I added quite a bit of flavour through warm, savoury spices – they have a warming effect on the body and help to get stagnant energies moving!


Serves 3-4

Ingredients:
– 2 cups broccoli florets*, chopped small
– 4 cups cooked basmati rice
– 2 tbsp. sesame or olive oil
– 1 small onion (or ½ a large onion), finely chopped
– 1/4 cup shoyu**
– 1 tsp. curry powder
– 1 tsp. cumin
– 1 tsp. turmeric
– 1 tsp. garam masala
– toasted sesame seeds for garnish (optional)

In a large sauté pan or stir-fry pan, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook, stirring from time to time, until translucent and beginning to brown, 3-5 minutes.

Add curry powder, cumin, turmeric, and garam masala. Cook into oil and onions for 2-3 minutes.

Add broccoli and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes, until broccoli is beginning to cook through and soften.

[I cook my veggies slightly, just enough to get the proteins and complex carbs breaking down but not enough to lose the crisp freshness – I don’t enjoy soggy, soft vegetables.]

Add rice and shoyu and mix thoroughly while frying rice and heating thoroughly, about 5 minutes.

Garnish with toasted sesame seeds. Serve hot, and preferably with a balancing cool, acidic salad (I enjoyed mine with freshly grated daikon and carrot in lemon juice).

Enjoy!


Notes:
* You can chop up and use the stem of the broccoli as well, I just like to keep mine aside for using to make great vegetable stocks.

** Shoyu is a healthier and more natural form of the typical soy sauce you find in grocery stores. Look for a good organic brand. I tend to use San-J’s organic shoyu.

12 thoughts on “Curried Broccoli Fried Rice

      • Because there is salt added and with my son, I find him still too young for all that salt. I also like that they are gluten free (we try to keep gluten to a lower level)… I’m guessing they are really not macrobiotic huh? I would have to finally do some research on what exactly macrobiotic is, cause I honestly am not sure I fully understand it.

        Like

        • I see where you’re coming from for sure. I still prefer shoyu over the Braggs amino acids because they are much more natural. The addition of the salt in the good, organic brands is for the fermentation process, not flavour. The ingredient list for Braggs may seem more natural, but the process to create the product isn’t, and it involves sodium bicarbonate (used to neutralize the hydrochloric acid) which ends up creating sodium chloride in the final product anyhow – that’s where the salty taste comes from. Small amounts of healthy salt are important for mineral, vitamin, and nutrient absorption 🙂 The amount of gluten in the good shoyus like San J or Ohsawa brand is minimal because the wheat is minimal – whereas in normal soy sauce it can be up to 50% of the recipe. I know San J also makes a great organic tamari that is 100% gluten-free. To say anything is not macrobiotic goes against the inherent spirit and philosophy of macrobiotics lol – its all about balance and energy. But I do like to describe my macro food as ‘whole-food, plant-based, and as local, organic, and unprocessed as possible’!

          Like

          • Gah! I had just written a HUGE response and Chrome froze and I lost it all. 😛 Here I go again, but shorter…

            Thank you for the info. I’ll look for those next time I’m at the health food store. I didn’t think Braggs was more natural, it’s just that a little goes a long way. A few drops in a whole pan of sauteed veggies and the kids are happy. I try not to flavor things too much cause I don’t want the kiddos to need the flavoring, you know? We do use salt, but we use mostly non-iodized Himalayan pink salt for seasoning raw foods and such, but I use iodized sea salt for cooking and baking. I know the kids need some iodine, it’s an important mineral, but they get so much of it in hidden ways! I put seaweed in everything too! LOL!

            Thank you for the definition… I guess I’m practicing a lot of macrobiotic food habits without even knowing it. 🙂

            Like

          • Oh! that happened to me, too, where I sent a message and it froze and didn’t post properly, but then my second was a much better reply anyhow, haha. Sounds like you’re making sure you and the family get enough of the good stuff without overdoing anything – I know what you mean about not wanting to get the kids used to too much flavour, its amazing how much flavour food naturally has when your tongue hasn’t been desensitized by copious amounts of overly-processed salt and sugar! The Himalayan salt and seaweed are great to be using – so good for sneaking in extra minerals and nutrients!

            I think with your understanding and lifestyle of balance, you definitely are. Macrobiotic philosophy is centered around the Unifying principle (aka properties of yin and yang as they apply to the universe and ourselves) and applies to every aspect of lifestyle and living, not just food prep and diet – truly fascinating!

            Like

          • Hahaha I can imagine! My good friend has her year-old baby girl devouring nori as a snack, too, I love it. They will develop much healthier flavour palettes and stronger digestive abilities than children raised on ‘conventional’ snacks 😉

            Like

          • P.s. I’ve had my ‘What is Macrobiotics?’ post hidden to be re-written for quite some time now… this conversation has inspired me to make it a priority again. Can’t wait to see how it flows with all these years of growth and experience between now and the last time I wrote it! Thank you for the inspiration 🙂

            Like

Leave a Reply

