Quote of the Day: Thoreau

James Gardens - Toronto

James Gardens – Toronto

“O how I laugh when I think of my vague indefinite riches. No run on my bank can drain it, for my wealth is not possession but enjoyment.”
~ Henry David Thoreau

– – – – –

This quote brings to my mind the well-known image of the Buddha laughing – now that I’ve known it myself, I can see in the Buddha the pure, unbridled joy of his smile and laugh; a triumph over any worldly circumstance.

Many ordinary people think the value of their lives lies in material wealth and social status; their happiness and their perceived riches can easily be stolen away.

When the wealth of one’s life is found in the intangible – in their very attitude and perspective on life – there is no end to the depth of the riches one can acquire! And that kind of wealth cannot be stolen away from one who has already consciously chosen it.

Leave a Reply

