Quote of the Day: Emerson

quote9“You become what you think about all day long.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

– – – – –

I really connected with this quote recently; it caused me to take some time to reflect on who I am today, where I’ve come from, and where I’m going.

To make a long story short, I’ve been struggling for the past two years to really make my holistic, yogic lifestyle one of regularity and consistency – it isn’t an easy thing to do. I’ve literally spent a good portion of every single day thinking and planning my goals and future – always trying to come up with new ways to solidify new, better habits, or just trying to strengthen current habits I wish to improve.

Reading these words the other day, I realized I’m finally beginning to find solid ground on the foundation I’ve been trying to build. And really, looking back, you can barely see a progression of change – there were no real big events or milestones that brought me to where I am today. Moreso, it was a slow progression fueled by a daily process of reflection, planning, and commitment that eventually resulted in a breakthrough in both habits and patterns of thinking and behaving.

Fill your mind with negative thoughts, and your energies and actions will serve to attract the same to you in your life.

Keep your mind on the positive, on things you want and aspire to be or do, and your energies and actions will also serve to attract the same to you.

Most of all, do it with a joyful heart expecting nothing in return; it may take months or even years for you to achieve your goals and become the person you want to be, but take each day knowing that the thoughts and actions of that day are weaving together the fibres of who you will be tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

