Morning Oatmeal

One of the more difficult aspects of my diet to change has been breakfast, by far. During the week I’m at work by 7:30 every morning, leaving little time to cook or eat breakfast before leaving. On top of that, having to choose a macrobiotic option seemed even more difficult as it required me to cook and consume a fresh meal. How could I fit cooking breakfast into my already busy morning routine?

In my quest to find a healthy breakfast option that was fast enough to make in the morning and take to work with me, I ended up making a simple oat porridge that can have countless toppings added depending on your preference for the day! I top my boyfriend’s morning porridge off with thinly sliced banana and chopped walnuts for the added energy he needs for his day. I tend to avoid the banana myself, as it is quite high in sugar and not typically recommended on a macrobiotic diet. I prefer to use ¼ of a thinly sliced crisp, sweet apple with chopped walnuts to top mine. The subtle sweetness of the brown rice syrup compliments the natural sweetness of the oat, rounding out the flavours nicely.

I scoop this into a glass container and seal it immediately, and it retains its heat until I’m ready to eat it!

Recipe serves 2.

Ingredients:
– 1 cup organic rolled oats
– 2 tbsp flax seeds
– ¼ tbsp cinnamon
– pinch salt
– ¼ cup organic unsweetened, unpasteurized apple juice
– 1 ¾ cup water
– ¼ cup rice milk
– 1-2 tbsp brown rice syrup
– 1 banana or 1 apple, thinly sliced
– ¼ cup walnuts, chopped (toasted or untoasted)

Heat the oats in a stainless steel pot over medium heat gently to toast the oats. Add the flax, cinnamon, and salt, and stir. Add the apple juice and water and bring to a low boil over medium heat. Reduce heat to low and let simmer, covered, for 10-15 minutes.

Stir in the rice milk and brown rice syrup and let the porridge cook over low for an additional 5 minutes.

Top with thinly sliced banana or apple and chopped walnuts.

5 thoughts on “Morning Oatmeal

  1. Yeah, I miss sweet porridges of this kind, in a way. I used to always, always eat sweet every morning, for some 25 years 😀 But now I start my mornings with a freshly made simple miso soup (necessary to get me going…). some blanched or steamed greens and a quick grain porridge made simply by reheating yesterday´s grain with some added water in a pot on the stove. These are all actually pretty fast things 😀 I found that a hearty breakfast including grain, greens and soup makes me function much better 😀

    Like

    • Haha, yes a sweeter porridge is a great way to start off the morning. Miso soup, although it is a wonderfully nutritious way to begin the day, stimulates my digestion far too much (leaving me hungry all day long), particularly so early in the morning. Porridge, on the other hand, keeps me full until lunch time easily. My body is typically quite yang, too, so a gentle sweetness helps lighten me up and keep me feeling energized and balanced all day! Another testament for going with what works for your body 😀

      Like

      • The breakfast should absolutely be more on the yin side, so that you are ready for the day…that´s why in the morning the miso soup is very very light (and I use barley miso then, which is also lighter), with some uplifting green garnish. If it´s too salty, you will be hungry soon. Also, porridge always has to follow, miso soup is just an entree 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

